PDA

View Full Version : Picking up dog at Airport

duxbac
07-09-2010, 11:47 AM
Just looking for advice in picking up a dog at Pearson-Toronto International airport. I have a pup coming from Memphis into Toronto next week. I asked the breeder to pick a night direct flight (when it is cooler) but I am a complete rookie here. Anything else I need to think of? Do animals come through the same terminal as people? Where do you go to pick them up? Any special paperwork required?
Help much appreciated.
Thanx
Bryon

Baby Duck
07-09-2010, 12:17 PM
Depending on the airline it could be at either side if the airport. No the pup will not come through the human terminal. You will also have customs to deal with. Flights generally leave ther first thing and direct flights are unlikely so it will be mid to late afternoon by the time it cones in. Some airlines are easier to work with for sure. Call the airline and get the cargo address for them. That will make it easier. Ask for building code because most do not have signs outside telling you which to goto. It was a bit confusing the first couple times I went bit now after shipping/ picking up over 100 puppies it's down to a science

Mike

captainjack
07-09-2010, 12:20 PM
Bryon,

It will most likely will be shipped cargo and picked up at cargo. Make sure that the customs is open when the dog comes in - morning may be safer than evening. You will have to go thru customs and if they are not open the pup will have to wait until it is open. Have them put in a bill of sale and I would suggest low balling it if this is an expensive purchase as they have idea on the price and will charge gst and I would guess HST now.
All other paper work will be the responsibility of the shipper ie. international health certificate, temperature requirements, etc..

Peter

susan
07-09-2010, 01:05 PM
Private Message sent

zeekster
07-09-2010, 01:39 PM
take drive to Buffalo and pick pup up there if at all possible

pastorjames50@gmail.com
07-09-2010, 03:16 PM